Skip to content

Camel & Navy

November 18, 2010





Vintage Camel & Navy Dress, Thrifted Belt, Old Heels 😉

Photographed by Melissa Lukenbaugh

 

I must admit, while as much as camel colored pieces are all the rage this season, I don’t own much of it.  I feel like I have to be careful with camel colored things.  My hair is light and my complexion is light and the lack of contrast can sometimes wash me out.  However, I fell in love with this vintage dress several months ago.   Once I tried it on and realized it fit perfectly, there was no doubt.  I imagined it just as we photographed it…with the trees changing.  I love it and I feel pretty in it.  My daily style is not very lady-esque but something about it makes me feel like I’m living in another time.  A time that is very different than the one I am in now which only allows for comfortable, inexpensive easily washable clothing.  I wouldn’t change a thing about my life, but sometimes it’s fun to try something new.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. whathappensafter5 permalink
    November 18, 2010 10:49 PM

    That’s a beautiful dress….definitely a classic.

    happensafterfive.wordpress.com

  2. trudie permalink
    November 19, 2010 5:35 AM

    Brittin, you look beautiful and I love your new haircut! I would not typically want a dress like this- as much as I love dressing to feel pretty, I find that more “lady-esque” items are less practical! Kuddos to you for going for it with this ensemble! You and your blog have inspired me more than I can explain this fall! Gorgeous!

    • November 20, 2010 8:01 AM

      Thanks Trudie!! That’s so sweet. I have moments where I wonder if I should continue the blog. I absolutely love it but with 2 kids, a part-time job and a new business in addition to the blog, it’s sometimes a lot. I am trying to learn balance and patience. Hearing wonderful comments from people who enjoy it like you are what keeps me going with it. I guess one of my dreams with it is to also inspire people, to step outside their comfort zone a little and experiment with fashion…because it really is so fun. I love that you feel inspired! Made my week!! thx again!

  3. Gretchen OLDHAM permalink
    November 20, 2010 4:03 AM

    love the dress and the hair …

    I was talking about your blog with a good friend here and we thought it would be fun to get dressed up and do some Paris photo shoots – if we do it and if it is anything good – I will send them to you.

    I also need to start taking my camera with me to work because I often see things that I think you would like on the street or in the métro …. or maybe that just means you have to come here (it is for business afterall)

    😉 love you!

  4. November 20, 2010 6:13 AM

    love your hair! x hivennn.

  5. Nancy Warden permalink
    November 20, 2010 10:10 PM

    Everything about this pic looks fantastic!! Like you said it’s like stepping back in time when women dressed like this to go shopping, visiting, church etc.
    You look gorgeous in this!! Loved it!

Leave a Reply

