Skip to content

Fashionnerdic Interview

November 17, 2010

I am starting a new tradition on my blog where I feature a guest interview each month.  This month I was fortunate enough to get beautiful blogger, Ilanka from Fashionnerdic to answer some of my questions.  Her sense of style is incredible and I absolutely love her hair. Enjoy and please check out her wonderful blog here: Fashionnerdic.

 

1. Why did you start your blog?

I was looking for a platform where I could let out my creativity. I had been writing and painting for a while and my interest for fashion started to grow and grow.

I can not exactly remember how but I discovered blogging and decided to start myself, since I could express myself there.

 

2. Where do you get your fashion inspiration?

It depends. Sometimes it’s simply my mood but I also can get inspired by music, food, buildings almost anything.

I don’t have one specific source of inspiration. But of course I also check out other blogs, fashion magazines and stores for inspiration.

 

3. What are your top 3 favorite fashion blogs?

 

Karla’s closet

Columbine smille

Leblogdebetty

 

4. Who takes your photos?

 

Most of the times my photographer Ronja de Waard.

Other times my brother who is also a photographer Yannick Verhoeven and when those two aren’t around my sweet mother is willing to shoot some pictures.

 

5. What do you love most about blogging?

 

Simply because I can do anything I want. I can express myself in styling, words and there is no one to criticize that.

The fact that people like what I do and I haven’t experienced many negativism when it comes to my blog is a great addition to that. But that is not the reason I love it, it makes it a lot more fun and special but the fact that I can express myself is my biggest love for blogging.

 

6. What opportunities have been presented to you through your blog?

 

Thanks to my readers and features I got so many opportunities!

The one that has been my favorite so far is going to Lisboa Fashion Week. It was amazing but most of all so unbelievable. I’m so grateful for that opportunity.

I also got to meet Scott Schuman, went to Amsterdam FW and did a shoot for BLEND.

 

7. When you’re not shopping or taking photos, what do you enjoy doing most?

 

I recently started art school, so doing this for school is something I really enjoy.

I also like to read, watch movies and cook.

 

8. Who are your favorite designers?

 

I don’t stick to specific designers, it can change every season.

This year it’s Jil Sander and some others, but I think I have loved Jil Sander for several years now.

 

9. What do you see yourself doing in 10 years?

 

I always find that a hard question. I think I will be in a foreign country working as a editor or stylist for a fashion magazine.

After my graduation as a allround stylist I would like to do as much as possible to build as much experience.

 

10. What is your favorite current trend?

 

Hard one as well. I think it must be the camel coat and the color red.

 

11. Who is/are your fashion icons?

 

Miroslava Duma and Olivia Palmero, they are both so versatile and just amazing.

 

12. Do you ever get recognized on the street?

It happened to me a few times now, it is always so overwhelming!

But I have to say, I have the sweetest readers and I always make some time to talk to them when they recognize me.

Some are afraid to say something to me, but I’m a very down to earth person.

So if you see me, just say hi and I can assure you we will chat for a while (I always talk to much).

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 5:45 PM

    great post, lvoe this girl’s style!

    xx raez

  2. Tiffany permalink
    November 18, 2010 6:38 PM

    Love that purple purse!

    XOXO,

    http://outfitidentifier.com/

  3. Nancy Warden permalink
    November 20, 2010 10:32 PM

    I really like the interview!! Interesting and I feel like I’ve been able to step into someone else’s life for a moment and really learn something. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

