Skip to content

White Wood Floors

September 5, 2010

Photography: Melissa Lukenbaugh

When we moved into our house last year and did some remodeling, I had visions of white wood floors.  I had seen several pictures in Domino magazine and loved this look.  Unfortunately, our floors were dark and in good condition so I had no excuse to have them refinished.  By some crazy stroke of luck and misfortune, we had a giant leak in our dining room soon after and were forced to have it repaired and all the hardwoods refinished.  I saw my window and I jumped!  Everyone, except my brilliant mom and her wonderful design tastes/instincts tried to persuade me not to do it.  All of the guys that came to give me estimates looked at me like I had completely lost my mind when I told them my vision.  They could not begin to comprehend why anyone would turn beautiful, dark wood floors white.  But as usual, I know what I like and what I want and I did it anyway.  And I am SO glad.  I still love them!!   I also replaced one of the drably painted walls in our open dining room with this fun wallpaper which still brightens the entire room.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Missy permalink
    September 6, 2010 4:16 AM

    Love those floors and the whole house!!!

  2. September 8, 2010 1:21 PM

    so creative, it looks stunning 🙂

  3. Nancy Warden permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:58 PM

    Walking into your house feels like heaven!!

Leave a Reply

